The Wrap-Up brings you the 5 largest music news stories of the week as well as information about new album and music video releases.



1. Alt-J perform new single on The Tonight Show & announce new tour dates

After their sold-out Madison Square Garden show on Monday, Alt-J performed “Every Other Freckle,” the latest single from This is All Yours. They then announced that they would extend their North American tour through October, but sadly, they didn’t announce any New England dates.


2. Joywave release new song

With only 18 days (yes, we’re counting down) until the release of their first full-length album, How Do You Feel Now?, Joywave released “Destruction.” The new song begins with a monologue from what sounds like a mad scientist, then escalates into synth-driven distortion. It’s another strong track from Joywave and we can’t wait to hear the rest of the album.

3. Death Cab for Cutie release new album

Kintsugi, the eight album from Death Cab for Cutie and their first since the departure of Chris Walla, came out on Tuesday and it includes singles “Black Sun,” “No Room in Frame,” “The Ghosts of Beverly Drive,” and “Little Wanderer.” They then stopped by Jimmy Kimmel Live to promote the album.

4. Franz Ferdinand release new song from album with Sparks

FFS, the unity of Franz Ferdinand and Sparks, released “Piss Off,” a quirky and theatrical track that shows off a new side of Franz Ferdinand. Their self-titled album comes out on June 8.

5. New music video from Blur

Blur released a new music video for “Lonesome Street,” which features some unexpected interpretative dancing. “Lonesome Street” itself is a simple and catchy track and now that we’re getting more new music from Blur, we can’t wait to hear what Gorillaz are up to.

And here are your 12 CUTS ABOVE THE REST

Image via

Leave a Reply