Contact Us

The Wrap-Up: This Week in Music + 12 Cuts

The Wrap-Up brings you the 5 largest music news stories of the week as well as information about new album and music video releases. This week: setting someone on fire, a big collaboration for a good cause, reasons to set your DVR, and the end of a sixteen-year drought.




1. Lorde sets man on fire for new “dark” music video

Lorde’s single with Disclosure, “Magnets,” just came out last week went on to win Smash or Trash on Wednesday. Luckily, we didn’t have to wait too long to have Lorde grace our computer screens again. The video for “Magnets” dropped on Tuesday and allowed us to see a completely different side to Lorde. (Don’t worry, still has her eccentric dance moves.) She engages in an affair with a married man, only to set him on fire at the end of the video. (That escalated quickly…) Lorde added some context to video on her Tumblr, which you can read below:

wow this video came out dark af i can’t remember us grading it that dark ..!

the most important detail is the girlfriend’s black eye, when she’s by the window.. watch it with that moment in mind. that’s the point the whole video hinges on / takes it from being “an affair narrative” to being “dude’s girlfriend hired miss ella the hit girl to ‘seduce’ him then take him the FUCK out”

anyway enjoy <3


2. Hozier, Florence Welch, Elle King, Vance Joy, Noel Gallagher, and others collaborate for fundraising project

WBRU favorites Hozier, Florence Welch, Elle King, Vance Joy, Noel Gallgaher, Jack Antonoff, and Milky Chance joined several other musicians to support “The Boob Project,” a fundraising effort that seeks to raise money for the Breast Cancer Research Foundation. The song arose from the eight-year-old son of a San Francisco radio DJ, Mike “No Name” Nelson, whose wife is suffering from breast cancer. Nelson’s radio station put together clips of different artists singing his son’s song and released it on Tuesday.


3. Rumored artwork and tracklist for new Kurt Cobain album released

Montage of Heck, the HBO documentary on Kurt Cobain’s life, has inspired several music releases. Among them are Montage Of Heck: The Home Recordings, which will include Cobain’s solo work. You can pick it up in the medium of your choice (CD, cassette, or digital copy) on November 13, but if you want the 2xLP you’ll have to wait until December 4. There will be a 13 songs on the standard version and 31 tracks for all you super fans who grab the deluxe edition. Alternative Nation released the album’s rumored artwork and you can check out the rumored tracklist below:
01 “The Yodel Song”
02 “Been A Son”
03 “The Happy Guitar”
04 “Clean Up Before She Comes”
05 “Reverb Experiment”
06 “You Can’t Change Me/Burn My Britches/Something In The Way”
07 “Scoff”
08 “Desire”
09 “And I Love Her”
10 “Sappy”
11 “Letters To Frances”
12 “Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge On Seattle”
13 “She Only Lies”


4. Halsey, Florence + The Machine, and Tame Impala will appear on Colbert this upcoming week

It’s time to set your DVR! Just a couple weeks after having the Dead Weather on for a completely badass performance, the Late Show with Stephen Colbert will have Tame Impala, Florence + the Machine, and Halsey perform this upcoming week. You can catch Florence + the Machine on Tuesday and Tame Impala the following night. You’ll then have to wait a bit and exclaim “TGIF” for Halsey’s performance on Friday.


5. Violent Femmes work on first new album in 16 years

Ready for a BRAND NEW VIOLENT FEMMES ALBUM IN 2016!! Finishing the artwork now, booking lots of touring, and feeling…

Posted by Violent Femmes on Thursday, October 1, 2015

While “Blister in the Sun” holds a special place in all of our hearts, we definitely wouldn’t mind hearing some new music from the Violent Femmes. Luckily, the band announced on their Facebook that they are working on a new album that will be released next year. Using #badass and #2016 in their announcement, we sure hope the album lives up to the hashtag hype.


And here are your 12 CUTS ABOVE THE REST!


Image via

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for WBRU quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!